The WALA Foundation

WALA was founded by Dr. Rudolf Hauschka in 1935 and today develops and manufactures products for the brands WALA Medicines (Only available in german) and Dr. Hauschka Skin Care on the basis of the anthroposophic knowledge of man and nature. Hauschka's vision was of a company where people are at the heart of all corporate activities and profit is seen only as a means to an end. This vision raised a number of questions about the best way to continue operating his company.

  • Who should own the company?
  • How can the company's vision be perpetuated in the long term?
  • How and to whom should the necessary company profits be distributed?
  • Is private ownership compatible with a company committed to the manufacture of natural, anthroposophic medicinal products?

The search for answers to these questions culminated in 1986 in the transformation of WALA from a general commercial partnership (OHG) to a foundation.
The WALA Stiftung, a company foundation, was established in Bad Boll / Eckwälden as trustee of the WALA company as a whole, while the latter was simultaneously transformed into a German limited liability company (GmbH). The primary task of the foundation is to promote the development of WALA Heilmittel GmbH and to take care of its inspiring resources. It is thus the 100% shareholder of the company. The approach of WALA Heilmittel GmbH to capital is marked by the conviction that no social or economic measure in itself has any significance. The company exists to fulfil the object of the foundation and cannot be bought, sold or inherited like goods. The profit is only the means to an end, not an end in itself. The end is primarily the corporate development and to foster an entrepreneurial framework that supports the individual development of the co-workers.

Articles of Association

The object of the Foundation is to safeguard the successful development of the company “WALA HEILMITTEL GMBH” and "WALA Agrikultur GmbH".

If you would like to read more about our mission and tasks, you can download our articles of association as a PDF file here:

The WALA Foundation is a member of the Bundesverband Deutscher Stiftungen (Association of German Foundations).

Members

Wolfgang Gutberlet

Christiaan Mol

Pirkko Ollilainen

Dr. Marcus Roggatz

Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

f.l.t.r. Christiaan Mol, Wolfgang Gutberlet, Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Pirkko Ollilainen, Dr. Marcus Roggatz

The WALA Foundation is responsible for a precious commodity in the form of the medicines and skin care products prepared by WALA Heilmittel GmbH, and we must ensure this commodity is used fruitfully. As a member of the board, I hope that we – ever alert to opportunities and risks – will oversee the protection and transformation of the company with such wisdom that more and more people will be able to find strength through WALA’s products and services.

Wolfgang Gutberlet

WALA strives to support its patients/customers in their everyday lives with high-quality medicinal products and cosmetics sourced from nature and produced in line with anthroposophical views. Together with the innate knowledge and power that resides within all our fellow humans, WALA is committed to nurturing and helping people to heal and thrive in a humble and faithful way.

As a member of the board of the WALA Foundation, I am highly motivated by this core concern because it brings something good into the world through the entire WALA value chain: When 1,000 people come together every day to work towards this shared goal, great things happen. I hope that my contributions to the WALA Foundation will further strengthen WALA, and I want to ensure that this added value continues to flourish – both regionally in Baden-Württemberg and globally through fair, sustainable projects.

I also believe it is important to gradually develop closer collaborations with other companies who are genuinely committed to the same or similar values.

Christiaan Mol

A central guiding principle in the production of WALA Medicines and Dr. Hauschka Skin Care is the wider anthroposophical view of nature and humans.
The interaction of the material and physical dimension with the mental and spiritual dimension should be researched further and applied to WALA product development.
As a member of the board of the WALA Foundation, I feel jointly responsible for maintaining and further developing this WALA impulse.
With my many years of practical experience in anthroposophical study and therapy, as well as in management design at the Filderklinik anthroposophical hospital, I hope to make a contribution to WALA’s thriving development.

Pirkko Ollilainen

To protect the core beliefs and values of WALA and to help shape the future of the company – these are the Foundation’s primary tasks. One such core belief at WALA is the belief in rhythmic processes, which are not only a central aspect of our production methods, but also form the basis of life for all of us. I believe that one of the tasks of the Foundation is to maintain and develop a healthy rhythm also in the social sphere, in working life and in cooperation with management. With this approach, WALA can become a role model for business life. Only when our society becomes more aware of the value of rhythmic processes can we hope to find better answers to the pressing challenges we currently face. I am convinced that, in this area, the WALA Foundation can make a contribution far beyond our company.

Dr. Marcus Roggatz

WALA, in its structure and in the nature of its activities, is like a mountain spring that provides crystal clear water. As the guardians of this spring, it is our job to give as many people as possible, indeed the whole world, access to this water. We are ever conscious of this responsibility.

Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

Wolfgang Gutberlet

Born in Fulda (Germany) in 1944, Wolfgang Gutberlet studied in Saarbrücken and Würzburg, graduating with a degree in business administration. From 1973 to 2009/2012, he held the position of CEO and partner at Tegut. Since 2013, he has been a partner and chairman of the supervisory board of the Fulda-based foundation W-E-G Stiftung & Co. KG.

Wolfgang Gutberlet is a member of various supervisory boards, as well as the executive board of the Research Institute for Biological Agriculture (FiBL). He has won several awards, including Eco-Manager of the Year 2005 and Entrepreneur of the Year 2007. In 2008, he was presented with the German Sustainability Award and the Federal Cross of Merit.

Wolfgang Gutberlet was appointed to the WALA Foundation’s board in 2005.

Christiaan Mol

Christiaan Mol studied pharmacy in Milan and Parma (Italy). In 1996 he joined WALA Heilmittel GmbH, where he most recently headed the group Public & Legal Affairs.

From 2013 to 2019 he was the General Secretary of the industry association ECHAMP (European Coalition on Homeopathic and Anthroposophic Medicinal Products). He is a member of the manufacturing committee of the German Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia (GHP) and board member of the International Association of Anthroposophic Pharmacists (IAAP).

Christiaan Mol was appointed a WALA Foundation board member in 2018.

Pirkko Ollilainen

Pirkko Ollilainen was born in 1954 in the city of Nurmes in the Finnish region of North Karelia on the Russian border. After finishing school, she trained at an anthroposophical treatment institute where she learned about eurythmy. She then studied eurythmy for two years in Ringwood, Great Britain, as well as for two years at Else Klink (Eurythmeum Stuttgart) and completed a qualification in healing eurythmy. In 1976, Pirkko Ollilainen began work as a practitioner at the newly founded Filderklinik, where she was a member of the clinic management team for many years.

Thanks to a close professional relationship with Heinz-Hartmut Vogel, an anthroposophical doctor and long-standing WALA shareholder, Pirkko Ollilainen formed a link with WALA. This, together with her in-depth understanding of anthroposophical treatment and extensive management experience, led to her being appointed to the WALA Foundation's board on 1 January 2017.

Dr. Marcus Roggatz

Marcus Roggatz was born in 1957 in Badenweiler (Germany). He studied medicine from 1975 to 1982 in Cologne, Mainz, Heidelberg, Oxford, Tübingen, Vienna and Freiburg, eventually graduating in Freiburg. After training for several years at various anthroposophical hospitals, he established himself in 1990 as an anthroposophical medical practitioner in Hamburg. In 1991, he took up an additional post as school doctor at a Waldorf school in Hamburg. In 1999 he moved his practice to Freiburg im Breisgau. From 1999 to 2002, he performed additional work in an establishment for child and adolescent psychiatry. As a long-standing medical adviser for WALA, he was appointed a member of the WALA Foundation in 1996. Marcus Roggatz is married and has four children.

Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

Dr. Wolfgang Schuster was born on the island of Pellworm near Husum (Germany). He studied biology and medicine in Hohenheim and Tübingen, receiving his medical license in 1980 and his doctorate in medicine in 1982.  He completed surgical training at various hospitals in Stuttgart and became an accredited surgeon in 1986. This was followed by two years working as a surgeon. In 1990, after attending the Anthroposophical Medical Seminary at the Fildner Hospital, he set up a general practice together with his wife Renate Baumgärtner-Schuster.  In 1996 he received accreditation as a general practitioner. In 1992 he was appointed a member of the WALA Foundation, where he currently serves as Chairman of the Board.

Contact

WALA Stiftung
Bosslerweg 2
73087 Bad Boll/Eckwälden
Germany
Phone +49 7164 930-168
Fax +49 7164 930-9168
stiftung@wala.de

Die WALA Stiftung

Dr. Rudolf Hauschka gründete 1935 die Firma WALA, in der heute Produkte der Marken WALA Arzneimittel und Dr. Hauschka Kosmetik nach dem Vorbild des anthroposophischen Grundgedankens entwickelt und hergestellt werden.
Hauschkas besonderes Anliegen war, den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt des Firmenwirkens zu stellen und Gewinn nur als Mittel zum Zweck zu sehen. Aus diesem Anspruch entstand für ihn eine Reihe von Fragen darüber, wie er sein Unternehmen am besten weiterführen soll:

  • Wer ist der Eigentümer des Betriebs?
  • Wie kann die Unternehmensidee langfristig erhalten bleiben?
  • Wie und an wen wird der betriebsnotwendige Gewinn verteilt?
  • Ist bei der Form eines solchen Unternehmens mit dem Anspruch, natürliche anthroposophische Arzneimittel herzustellen, Privateigentum überhaupt noch möglich?

Die Lösung dieser Fragen mündete 1986 in die Umwandlung der WALA – damals eine OHG - in ein Stiftungsunternehmen:
Die Unternehmensstiftung WALA Stiftung in Bad Boll / Eckwälden wurde als Trägerin für das Gesamtunternehmen WALA begründet, das im gleichen Zuge in eine GmbH umgewandelt wurde. Die oberste Aufgabe der Stiftung besteht darin, die Entwicklung der WALA Heilmittel GmbH zu fördern und dabei die Quellen zu pflegen. Sie ist damit deren 100%ige Gesellschafterin. Die Überzeugung, dass keine soziale oder wirtschaftliche Maßnahme für sich selbst Bedeutung haben kann, prägt den Umgang der WALA Heilmittel GmbH mit Kapital. Das Unternehmen dient dem Stiftungszweck, kann nicht wie Ware ge- und verkauft oder vererbt werden. Der Gewinn ist nur Mittel zum Zweck, nicht der Zweck selbst. Der Zweck ist die im Vordergrund stehende Firmenentwicklung und dabei Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen, welche die individuelle Entwicklung der Mitarbeiter fördern.

Die Satzung

Es ist Aufgabe der Stiftung, der „WALA Heilmittel GmbH“ und der „WALA Agrikultur GmbH“ eine gedeihliche Entwicklung zu sichern.

Wenn Sie mehr über unsere Aufgaben und Ziele lesen möchten, finden Sie hier unsere Satzung als PDF-Download:

Die WALA Stiftung ist Mitglied im Bundesverband Deutscher Stiftungen.

Die Mitglieder

Wolfgang Gutberlet

Christiaan Mol

Pirkko Ollilainen

Dr. Marcus Roggatz

Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

v.l.n.r. Christiaan Mol, Wolfgang Gutberlet, Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Pirkko Ollilainen, Dr. Marcus Roggatz

Die WALA Stiftung trägt ein wertvolles Gut an Arznei und Pflegemitteln, gefasst in der WALA Heilmittel GmbH, und soll es fruchtbar werden lassen. Als Mitglied des Vorstands wünsche ich mir, dass wir – wachsam für Chancen und Risiken – Wahrung und Wandlung so weisheitsvoll begleiten, dass immer mehr Menschen sich durch die Leistungen der WALA stärken können.

Wolfgang Gutberlet

Die WALA will mit hochwertigen Arzneimitteln und Kosmetika aus der Natur und auf anthroposophischer Basis Patienten/Kunden im Alltag unterstützen. Pflegend, gemeinsam mit dem inneren Heiler und Genius unserer Mitmenschen, will die WALA bei Heilung und beim Gedeihen des Lebensweges in Beschei­denheit, aber auch in Treue helfen.

Ich als Mitglied des Vorstands der WALA Stiftung bin von diesem Kern­anliegen begeistert, denn dadurch kommt mittels der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette der WALA etwas Gutes in die Welt: Wenn 1.000 Menschen mit dieser Motivation jeden Tag zusammenkommen, um daran zu arbeiten, findet etwas Großartiges statt. Ich wünsche mir, durch meine Beiträge in der WALA Stiftung die WALA weiter zu stärken, und ich möchte Sorge da­für tragen, dass diese Wertschöpfung weiter gedeiht – sowohl regional in Baden-Württemberg als auch global mittels fairer, nachhaltiger Projekte.

Auch ist mir wichtig, mit anderen Unternehmen, denen es ebenfalls ein authentisches Anliegen ist, sich für solche bzw. ähnliche Werten zu engagieren, schrittweise mehr zusammenzuarbeiten.

Christiaan Mol

Eine zentrale Leitlinie für die Herstellung der WALA Heilmittel und der Dr. Hauschka Kosmetik ist das durch die Anthroposophie erweiterte Natur- und Menschenbild. Das Zusammenwirken der stofflich-lebendigen mit der seelisch-geistigen Dimension gilt es immer weiter zu erforschen und für die WALA Produktentwicklung nutzbar zu machen.
Als Mitglied des Vorstands der WALA Stiftung fühle ich mich mitverantwortlich für die Einhaltung und Weiterentwicklung dieses WALA Impulses.
Mit meiner langjährigen praktischen Erfahrung in der anthroposophischen Menschenkunde und Therapie sowie der Führungsgestaltung in der Filderklinik möchte ich einen Beitrag leisten zur gedeihlichen Entwicklung der WALA.

Pirkko Ollilainen

Die Grundlagen und Werte der WALA hüten und die Zukunft des Unternehmens mit gestalten – das sind wesentliche Aufgaben der Stiftung. Eine Grundlage der WALA sind die rhythmischen Prozesse, sie bilden nicht nur den Kern unserer Herstellung, sondern sind die Lebensgrundlage für uns alle. Ich sehe es als eine Aufgabe der Stiftung an, einen gesunden Rhythmus auch im Sozialen, im Arbeitsleben, in der Zusammenarbeit mit der Geschäftsführung zu pflegen und zu entwickeln. Die WALA kann damit Vorbild werden für das Wirtschaftsleben. Wenn in unserer Gesellschaft ein Bewusstsein für den Wert rhythmischer Prozesse wächst, können wir bessere Antworten auf drängende Fragen unserer Gegenwart finden. Nach meiner Überzeugung kann die WALA Stiftung so einen Beitrag über unser Unternehmen hinaus leisten.

Dr. Marcus Roggatz

Die WALA in ihrer Struktur und dem Inhalt ihrer Tätigkeiten ist wie eine Gebirgsquelle, die kristallklares Wasser anbietet. Es ist unsere Aufgabe, dieses Wasser möglichst vielen Menschen, ja der ganzen Welt zur Verfügung zu stellen. Als Hüter der Quelle stehen wir bewußt in dieser Verantwortung.

Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

Wolfgang Gutberlet

Geboren 1944 in Fulda. Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Saarbrücken und Würzburg mit dem Abschluss zum Diplom-Kaufmann. Von 1973 bis 2009 bzw. 2012 Vorsitzender der Geschäftsleitung und Gesellschafter von tegut…, seit 2013 Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates und Gesellschafter der W-E-G Stiftung & Co. KG mit Sitz in Fulda.

Darüber hinaus ist Wolfgang Gutberlet Mitglied in verschiedenen Aufsichtsräten sowie im Vorstand von FiBL (Forschungsinstitut für biologischen Landbau). Verschiedene Auszeichnungen, u. a. als Öko­manager des Jahres 2005 sowie als Entrepreneur des Jahres 2007. 2008 Verleihung des Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreises sowie des Bundesverdienstkreuzes am Bande.

2005 wurde er in den Vorstand der WALA Stiftung berufen.

Christiaan Mol

Christiaan Mol studierte Pharmazie in Mailand und Parma (Italien). 1996 kam er zur WALA Heilmittel GmbH, wo er zuletzt die Gruppe Interessenvertretung/Recht leitete.

Von 2013 bis Mai 2019 war er Generalsekretär des Industrieverbands ECHAMP (European Coalition on Homeopathic & Anthroposophic Medicinal Products). Er gehört dem Herstellerausschuss des German Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia (GHP) an sowie dem Vorstand der International Association of Anthroposophic Pharma­cists (IAAP).

2018 wurde Christiaan Mol in den Vorstand der WALA Stiftung berufen.

Pirkko Ollilainen

Pirkko Ollilainen wurde 1954 in der Stadt Nurmes im finnischen Nordkarelien an der Grenze zu Russland geboren. Nach der Schule Ausbildung an einer anthroposophisch-therapeutischen Einrichtung, zwei Jahre Eurythmiestudium in Ringwood in England, weitere zwei Jahre bei Else Klink in Stuttgart und Ausbildung zur Heileurythmistin. Seit 1976 ist Pirkko Ollilainen Therapeutin in der Filderklinik, wo sie auch lange Mitglied der Klinikleitung war.

Durch ihre enge fachliche Beziehung zu Heinz-Hartmut Vogel, anthroposophischer Arzt und langjähriger Gesellschafter der WALA, entstand die Verbindung zur WALA. Unter anderem diese Verbindung und auch Pirkko Ollilainens tiefes Verständnis für die anthroposophische Therapierichtung sowie ihre langjährige Führungserfahrung waren ausschlaggebend, sie zum 1. Januar 2017 in den Vorstand der WALA Stiftung zu berufen.

Dr. Marcus Roggatz

Geboren 1957 in Badenweiler. Medizinstudium 1975 bis 1982 in Köln, Mainz, Heidelberg, Oxford, Tübingen, Wien und Freiburg mit Abschluss in Freiburg. Nach mehrjähriger Ausbildung an verschiedenen anthroposophischen Kliniken ließ Marcus Roggatz sich 1990 als anthroposophischer Arzt in Hamburg nieder. 1991 nahm er zusätzlich eine Stelle als Schularzt in einer Hamburger Waldorfschule an. 1999 verlegte er seine Praxis nach Freiburg im Breisgau. 1999 bis 2002 arbeitete er zusätzlich an einer Einrichtung für Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie. Als langjähriger medizinischer Berater der WALA wurde er 1996 zum Mitglied der WALA Stiftung berufen. Er ist verheiratet und Vater von vier Kindern.

Dr. Wolfgang Schuster

Geboren 1948 auf der Insel Pellworm bei Husum. Sein Studium der Biologie und Medizin in Hohenheim und Tübingen schloss er 1980 mit der Approbation und 1982 mit der Promotion in Medizin ab. An verschiedenen Stuttgarter Kliniken ließ er sich zum Facharzt für Chirurgie ausbilden, 1986 erlangte er den dazugehörigen Facharzttitel. Es schloss sich eine zweijährige Tätigkeit an. Nach dem Besuch des Anthroposophischen Ärzteseminars an der Filderklinik ließ er sich 1990 in einer allgemeinmedizinischen Gemeinschaftspraxis mit seiner Ehefrau Renate Baum­gärtner-Schuster nieder. 1996 erhielt er den Titel Facharzt für Allgemeinmedizin. In die WALA Stiftung wurde er 1992 berufen, zurzeit bekleidet er das Amt des Ersten Vorsitzenden.

Kontakt

WALA Stiftung
Bosslerweg 2
D-73087 Bad Boll/Eckwälden
Tel. +49 7164 930-168
Fax +49 7164 930-9168
stiftung@wala.de